Family Engagement

Parental Engagement


Early Steps, State Interagency Coordinating Council (SICC)
The Louisiana State Interagency Coordinating Council (LA-SICC) works in collaboration with the Louisiana Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, in an advisory capacity, to design and oversee the implementation of a family-centered, community-based, comprehensive, interagency system for infants and toddlers (birth through two years of age) who are eligible for Early Steps and their families. Our goal is to advise and assist the Louisiana Department of Health (LDH), as the Lead Agency, in the monitoring and evaluation of this system to ensure that families are supported and the potential of each child is maximized.

Louisiana Department of Education, Special Education Advisory Panel (SEAP)
The Special Education Advisory Panel (SEAP) advises and assists the Louisiana Department of Education with the provision of free and appropriate public education for individuals with disabilities. It exists by authority of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) to provide guidance on special education programs and services. Members are appointed by the State
Superintendent of Education after being selected from a pool of applicants by a committee that includes one member of the LDOE, one BESE member, and two current members of SEAP. SEAP members serve three-year terms.

Louisiana Rehabilitation Council (LRC) 
The Louisiana Rehabilitation Council listens to the concerns of those with disability issues, reviews, analyzes and evaluates the state rehabilitation program, collaborates with other state agencies, organizations and consumer groups.

LSU Human Development Center HDC Constituent Advisory Committee
The purpose of the Constituent Advisory Committee (CAC) is to advise the Human Development Center (HDC) director, faculty, and staff in a manner that supports the HDC in meeting its responsibilities in accordance with the Developmental Disabilities Assistance and Bill of Rights Act (2000). The HDC’s CAC is comprised of self-advocates, family members, and representatives of self-advocacy organizations, key state agencies, and community provider organizations from across Louisiana. Members shape the mission and vision of the HDC by offering input on emerging needs and priorities of individuals with intellectual and developmental disabilities and their families and by participating in the development, implementation, evaluation, and dissemination of results of the HDC’s activities and initiatives.

REGION 10 – Jefferson Parish

Jefferson Parish Regional Advisory Committee for Developmental Disabilities (RAC)
The committee was established by legislation to ensure public input in an advisory capacity in developing and implementing policies and procedures and allocating resources to Jefferson Parish Human Services Authority. Must be a Jefferson Parish resident. If you do not live in Jefferson Parish, there is a RAC in every OCDD region in Louisiana.

Jefferson Parish Public Schools, Special Education Advisory Council
The Superintendent’s Special Education Council will discuss and provide meaningful feedback to the Superintendent regarding special education policies, procedures, and resources. Additionally, this council will be tasked with increasing the level of support and collaboration through engagement and education to the community at large as it relates to special education in Jefferson Parish Schools. This council will advise and advocate, not decide policy

REGION 8 – Caldwell, East Carroll, Franklin, Jackson, Lincoln, Madison, Morehouse, Ouachita, Richland, Tensas, Union, and West Carroll

REGION 7 –  Bienville, Bossier, Caddo, Claiborne, De Soto, Natchitoches, Red River, Sabine, Webster

REGION 6 – Avoyelles, Catahoula, Concordia, Grant, LaSalle, Rapides, Vernon, and Winn

REGION 5 – Allen, Beauregard, Calcasieu, Cameron, and Jefferson Davis

REGION 4 – Acadia, Evangeline, Iberia, Lafayette, St. Landry, St. Martin, and Vermillion

REGION 3 – Assumption, Lafourche, St. Charles, St. James, St. John the Baptist, St. Mary, and Terrebonne

REGION 2 – Ascension, East Baton Rouge, East Feliciana, Iberville, Point Coupee, West Baton Rouge, and West Feliciana

REGION 1 – Orleans, Plaquemines, St. Bernard


Updated on 6/20/2023